NaPoWriMo #7: “Brady”

Hi readers,

Can’t believe I’m already a week into NaPoWriMo… the prompt for today was something I uncovered after a bit of Internet trawling: “write a love poem addressed to the most unloveable person in the world”. I’ll leave it at that.

Brady

Wordsworth waster,
I sleepwalk into you
as into a gas chamber.

On the yellow badlands
of our karmic abattoir,
we paradox over and over

in white sweet strings.
Hold me, hood me;
where you go I’m gone:

armageddon racetrack,
janitor to maggots,
“Call me Daddy”.

Fossilised in photos.
Part of you rests
on my skull;

bruised I know
it’s your handgun
but also your hand.

Leave a Reply

